Hotel Le Splendid in Dax: its history

The birth of a myth: the Grand Hotel Le Splendid in Dax, the emblem of art deco

This hotel from the 1930s has gone through the ages as part of the history of the city of Dax. Formerly a castle, the hotel Le Splendid occupied a dominant position in medieval times.

This magnificent building Art Deco style and emblematic place of “the Roaring Twenties”, symbol of the cultural and artistic bubbling of the city of Dax, opened its doors to the most famous characters of this frenetic and creative period. Ernest Hemingway, Joseph Kessel, Sacha Guitry …

Its audacious architecture in the form of a flagship facing the banks of the Adour River, inspired by the mythical Normandy boat, is an invitation to escape and reverie. Its architect André Granet created an exceptional hotel sublimated by its Art Deco chic and sophisticated style, completely renovated. Its large hall and wide light staircase characteristic of this decorative movement, have kept its superb, leading to the spacious and comfortable rooms of this beautiful 4 star hotel in Dax. On the ground floor, the Art Deco style is very present, from the restaurant with its large reception room to the former smoking room.

The traditional cooking offers a savory mixture of dishes very tasty and generous. For a natural bracket, Le Splendid has a vegetated space where it is good to live.

The modern and innovative spa offers a soothing and relaxing afternoon after a day of exploring the city of Dax. The building is listed on the Inventory of Historical Monuments, and knew a complete renovation for a reopening in April 2018, to add a new chapter to its long history.

Take a trip back in time and discover, by clicking here, the interview of former rugby player Pierre Albaladejo, who grew up near the Splendid.

Reopening in April 2018, book now your stay and benefit from our launch offers!

Book

L’hôtel Splendid de Dax et son histoire

La naissance d’un mythe : le Grand Hotel Splendid, emblème de l’art déco

Ce grand hôtel des années 30 a traversé les époques en s’inscrivant dans l’histoire de la ville de Dax. Anciennement un château fort, l’hôtel Le Splendid occupa une place dominante à l’époque médiévale.

dax-archive

Ce fleuron de l’art déco et lieu emblématique des années folles, symbole du bouillonnement culturel et artistique de la ville de Dax, ouvrit ses portes aux personnages les plus célèbres de cette période frénétique et créative. Ernest Hemingway, Joseph Kessel, Sacha Guitry…

Son architecture audacieuse en forme de vaisseau amiral faisant face aux berges du fleuve de l’Adour, inspiré du mythique paquebot Normandie, est une invitation à la rêverie et à l’évasion. Son architecte André Granet créa un hôtel d’exception sublimé par sa décoration Art Déco chic et sophistiquée, entièrement rénové. Son grand hall et son large escalier lumineux caractéristiques de ce mouvement décoratif ont gardé de sa superbe, menant aux chambres spacieuses et confortables de ce bel hôtel 4 étoiles de Dax. Au rez-de-chaussée, le style Art déco y est très présent, du restaurant avec sa grande salle de réception à l’ancien fumoir.

Cet essence authentique se fait ressentir jusqu’aux assiettes, proposant un savant mélange de plats du terroir savoureux et généreux. Pour une parenthèse nature, Le Splendid initie un espace végétalisé où il fait bon vivre.

Le spa moderne et innovant offre une parenthèse apaisante et relaxante après une journée de découverte de la ville de Dax. L’édifice est inscrit à l’Inventaire des Monuments historiques, et a fait l’objet d’une rénovation complète pour une réouverture en Avril 2018, pour ajouter un nouveau chapitre à sa longue histoire.

Faites un voyage dans le temps et découvrez en cliquant ici l’interview du rugbyman Pierre Albaladejo, qui a grandi tout près du Splendid.